What About Me 8°

Last edition of 2023.

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Micael

ho ho ho

Dear fans,

Here we are in the last edition of 2023.

This season holds a dear place in my heart. My childhood and teenage years were marked by cherished moments at my uncle's beach house, where days melted into nights filled with laughter by the pool and friendly (not so friendly) board games at the dinner table. It was a time of genuine connection, a rare opportunity for my family to come together for more than an afternoon.

Later on, as I made my home in Italy, December was the time to go back to Brazil—reconnecting with family, catching up with friends, enjoying some home-cooked meals that I didn't cook for a change, and reflecting on life. In both scenarios, the end of the year has always symbolized unity, reflection, and gratitude for me.

This year, however, I stayed in Milan. For countless reasons, I ended up celebrating Christmas Eve on FaceTime with my mother and Christmas Day with a couple of friends who also found themselves away from home.

Initially, the thought of spending a solitary Christmas away from family was daunting. But as the date approached, I made peace with the idea that growing up and experiencing many Christmases means that some won't be exactly where you'd like or with whom you'd like. Living a full life, with its highs and lows, means that sometimes you'll need to embrace your own company and the adversity of the situations you find yourself in.

And so, the season made sense in a new light. This year was one of a little more introspection, where I stopped focusing so much on the outer world and regained my balance after being lost for a long time (the pandemic, no doubt, has left its mark on us all). I began to stay home more, to appreciate my own company more, and I swear to you that I have never loved myself as much as I do now. It was a year of refocusing inward, and thinking about it, it kind of makes sense to end this cycle like this.

Despite my solitude, the irony was not lost on me as I found myself attending more Christmas dinners than any previous year—six in total, I think. Each gathering, whether with friends, flatmates, colleagues, or lovers (just kidding...), served as a reminder of the chosen family I've built here. As much as I've learned to value my time alone, my appreciation for the amazing people around me has only deepened. I want to personally thank everyone who invited me to spend Christmas with them and make it clear that even though I preferred to be alone, I value knowing that it was by choice and that I always had you guys by my side.

I can't wait to start sharing all my plans for the coming year with you bit by bit. And I hope you will share yours with me. Be grateful. This was an amazing year. I hope you all have a great New Year's Eve and talk to you soon!

With much love,

Micael.