What About Me 3°

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Micael

Anitta’s biggest inspiration

me showing funk to the ING family in a workshop

 Answer this:

  1. Are we good in certain high school subjects because we like them?

  2. Or do we like certain high school subjects because we are good at them?

I was always the best student in my history class for example (lowkey a genius). And I always wondered if I liked history because it was easy for me, or if, on the contrary, I did well in history because I was interested and liked the subject.

It's human nature, isn’t? We tend to gravitate toward the things we slay at. If something doesn't seem to play nice with our skills, we often give it the cold shoulder. You've heard it before. "I'm not the athletic type" or "I don't sing, I wasn’t born with the gift." We're all guilty of it.

However - at least for me - this whole theory falls apart when I ponder my obsession with dance.

I always loved dancing and last year in Australia I did a few months of Brazilian Funk classes. Fast forward to the present, and since two weeks ago I'm a proud card-carrying member of Milan's one-and-only twerking class. But here's the thing: I completely suck at it.

My hips don't move as they should, and my movements completely lack fluidity. And still, every week I go there and make a fool out of myself. But you guys have no idea how big is the feeling of fulfillment realizing that every time I go to class I suck. a. little. less.

It's honestly been a fantastic exercise of trying not to compare my ability to others but understand that everybody has their own twerking journey and there’s no point in twerk-shaming yourself.

Returning to that first question – my love for history? Still a mystery. Maybe I had an innate talent, or perhaps my history teacher was just that good. But when it comes to dance, I can assure you I have no talent - and I could never let this stop me.

Micael.

PS: What about you? Anything you have zero skills and would like to learn either way? let me know and see you soon.