What About Me 24°

4K Vision

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Micael

I’m not sleeping, just resting my eyes…

Hi everyone,

This edition is about something important I haven't had the chance to share yet.

If you know me, you know I hated wearing glasses. Unless you saw me at home or the gym, you likely never saw me with them. I never liked my look with glasses and often felt like I wasn't being myself. Many times, I'd prefer to stay home rather than go out without glasses.

Over the years, my journey with contact lenses also became tricky. Initially, I could wear them for 10-12 hours without issue, but recently, after just three hours, my eyes would feel dry and irritated.

I always blamed an eye irritation I got in Venice after putting my lenses in water (spoiler: don't do it). Life was hard after that. I hated leaving the house with glasses, and my time feeling okay with lenses was getting limited. I had to calculate when I was going out and how long I'd spend out on a daily basis, always carrying around the liquid (I've learned the lesson then).

So it is no surprise to anyone that I always wanted to do laser surgery. Since I was fifteen, I'd ask my doctor in Brazil, but I was always told I was too young. When I discovered that ING's private insurance covered the surgery, my desire doubled. One of my dream surgeries, almost for free? I went to the doctor every six months, doing all the tests, but I was never ready.

Finally, after deciding to join Fever, it was my last shot. The stars aligned, and one week later, I received the call: “You are ready”.

My health insurance covered until May 31st, so I scheduled the surgery for May 30th. It was three days of hell with my eyes burning constantly, even in the complete darkness. But after that, it improved significantly, and after a week, the pain was gone. My vision isn't perfect yet, and there's still some recovery to be done, but I'm getting there, and glasses are now a thing of the past.

During my teenage years, people often said, "Micael, just accept that you need to wear glasses. Period." Well, I never accepted. Period. - It might not be the right way to handle life for everyone, but it was my way, and I couldn't be happier that weight is gone now.

With love,

Micael.

P.S.: A huge thanks to my good friend Enzo, who took care of me during those three days, keeping me company, cooking, and listening to my many complaints. I would be lost without you.