What About Me 13°

I got to check out what's probably the closest thing to a Brazilian Carnival in Europe.

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Micael

prepare your costume for next year

Hi fans,

I hope you're all good and enjoying this issue. February is a special month to miss Brazil - It is Carnival time. And although I can't wait to experience Brazilian Carnival again, this year I didn't completely miss out on the Carnival fun.

As some of you might know, Italy has its own way of celebrating Carnival, and last month, I got to check out what's probably the closest thing to a Brazilian Carnival in Europe. Trust me, you'll want to add this to your list for next year.

A bit of context: Italy's Carnival scene is pretty diverse, with each city putting its own spin on the festivities. The top three spots for Carnival in Italy are:

  • Venice Carnival: World-famous, has been around for over 900 years, and is all about traditional masks, fancy dresses, and a parade on boats.

  • Viareggio Carnival: The one we're diving into.

  • Ivrea Carnival: Kind of a wild adventure, featuring a full-on "orange war" where people throw around 600 tons of oranges at each other, symbolizing a fight against oppression.

I checked out Venice's Carnival during my college years and, to be honest, I was a bit disappointed. So, when my housemate Gianluca wouldn't stop talking about driving two and a half hours to fullfil his life long dream of seeing Viareggio’s Carnival, I wasn't exactly thrilled. But Gianluca can be insisting.

And honestly, I blown away! 

Viareggio's Carnival, with its massive floats, themed parades, and bold takes on current events, is something you guys don't want to miss. The vibe, the crowd, the fun... and it's right by the beach like I love! Venice felt more like a tourist spot with a few people wearing masks, but Viareggio? It was full-on Carnival. I had to get a wig to defend myself or it would be embarrassing.

The floats were incredible, each telling its own story, much like the ones back in Brazil, which made me homesick in the best way. They often feature the year's most talked-about figures—politicians, celebrities, athletes—and sometimes pay homage to movies or historical events, making everything more engaging.

Sure, I missed my Skol Beats and Brazilian funk, but this was the closest I've come to feeling that Carnival spirit abroad. Highly recommend it.

Take care, stay safe, and sending you all lots of love,

Micael.